All I want for Christmas

All I want for Christmas is…..

Well, I got my Christmas present early this year..32 of the cutest 24-day-old little white rats. They are sooo cute… the thing is….they’re going to die in the next two months…and I’m going to kill them…

In the meantime I get to weigh (and pet) them every single day so I can grow nice and attached to them….great…..oh well.. I’m here by choice and I actually really want to know what social stress does to the serotonin levels in the brain…but I can’t help feeling like a bit of a meanie..

The worst thing is….I’m getting attached to them already! There’s this cage of four rats (they’re housed socially while growing up, to learn play behavior), and they’re like the Daltons, four bandits, they’re always trying to break out when I open the cage and squirm like crazy when I carry them to the scale. They are the only ones that do not quiet down when I cover their heads with my hand, they actually get even more determined too escape! This afternoon, when I approached the cage, I found the four of them hanging casually from the two water bottles like they where having happy hour..They looked at me with a relaxed, slightly annoyed expression like I was crashing a party I wasn’t invited to. It wasn’t until I opened the lid that they sprung into action to attempt another escape.

 

In other entirely unimportant news I successfully tried to replicate my mothers ‘zuurkoolstamppot’ last Sunday. And in the spirit of animal testing I brought some to the office for my Spanish supervisor to try. He ate it right in front of me and said he loved it. This could of course mean that he is very polite or a brilliant actor, or both…. Also there is the extremely remote possibility that he actually liked it. I guess I’ll find out when he brings ‘round the gazpacho he promised to make me. If it’s awful, I know what I did to deserve it…

 

And, yes..I know I promised you guys an essay on how the world around us is a matter of perception and not truth, but I haven’t gotten round to writing a concise, comprehensible story. Last time I tried, I started out with explaining why the philosophical problem popular in tv shows ‘If a tree falls in the forest, and there’s no-one there to hear it, does it make a sound?’ is utter hogwash. But then I got caught up in my own argumentation and the rest of my thoughts about life, which included the ones about beer, singing, what to have for dinner and some other ones not fit for publication…Long story short..I haven’t yet formulated my ideas in a way that an attempt to comprehend them would not be a huge waste of time to others or my shopping list does not end up jumbled in there somewhere… I guess we’ll just have to wait…

This entry was posted in Mood of the day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All I want for Christmas

  1. Unknown says:

    Aaaw… ze klinken erg gezellig! Sterkte als het zover is.

Leave a Reply

