Absurd

How absurd is this? I don’t know where I am or where I’m going. I live in this house that is hardly familiar to me, together with this person I don’t know. I’m doing stuff that I’ve done every day for the past six years still it feels like I’m doing them for the first time.

 

See, I had a plan. I had a goal in my life and I thought I had found a way to achieve it. And now it’s gone, all gone. And I’m actually lucky. I mean, I chose this, and I know it’s the right decision. It was a breakup by the book (mostly) No ugly fights, we’re still speaking. And I’m fine! I have a place to live, I have a wonderful, supportive circle of friends, I have structure from a job that I love, with amazing colleagues and the list goes on, I’m fine!

 

And still, in unguarded moments, I feel like I’m drifting on something not even as solid as an ocean. It feels like being weightless and caught in a blizzard and  trying to keep very still to prevent myself from getting smashed into stuff. To a control-freak like me, believe me… it’s not very nice… at all

And I’m sure there’s bunches of people in the world that love uncertainty. Not knowing what’s going to happen next. It’s supposed to be immensely exciting. Also, having sole responsibility for oneself is considered to be wonderful and relaxing.

 

Well, not to me! It freaks me out! Call me crazy but I want geraniums! I need to know where I’m going to be next year or at least something to tell myself about my future that seems plausible, that I can hold on to. I want stability; I’ll get a dog if it helps! Yes, I can get out of my house (well..my house) right now and go out (If I were wearing something other than my sweats). But where will I go and why? And this is me on a Saturday night! Can I be more pathetic?. I’ll probably end up walking around in a night-shrouded city feeling still, deaf, dumb, trying hard not to think while trying to shake loose the thoughts that are stuck in my head like black sticky bits just beyond my reach. So what will that get me? Sore feet from walking around in my heels most likely..

 

Oh well…

 

I know I promisedyou guys long and cheerful blogs, but this is the drivel I’m producing at the moment, so bear with me here, okay? I’m getting there..

 

P.S: Featured by the way are pictures of my trip to Antwerp. It rained most of the time but it was really great!  Had a lot of wonderful, even rare, beers and generally a very good time. (See? I told you I was fine) I’ll get to work on the captions asap.

This entry was posted in Mood of the day. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Absurd

  1. Unknown says:

    Ik begrijp goed hoe je je voelt, heb het zelf ook mee gemaakt, maar dan nadat ik weg was bij die fijne Informatie Beheer Groep, mijn hele toekomst op zijn kop. Geloof me: het zal uiteindelijk over gaan, maar het heeft tijd nodig. En tot die tijd: altijd welkom indien we thuis zijn natuurlijk. *knuffels*

  2. Unknown says:

    Ehm… Dat was dus een berichtje van mij: Carien

  3. Linda says:

    Ach lieverd toch…
    Kop op hoor!
    Je bent een sterke meid die met beide benen
    in de wereld staat. En al lijkt het nu van niet,
    Het komt wel goed met jou, dat weet ik zeker.
     
    En je weet het…..ik heb altijd gelijk..;  )
     
    Voor een goed gesprek of wat dom lullen
    weet je me te vinden. Linda

  4. Flora says:

    Ik lees je blogs ook en ik weet een ding zeker, dat je er goed uit gaat komen, je hebt altijd goed geweten wat je wilt, en je bent er altijd voor gegaan, je komt er uit, en wij houden van je.
    mums

  5. Rose-Anne says:

    Hej Joost!
     
    Kop op meissie! Je komt er wel uit. Het staat nu op losse schroeven maar onthou…Je komt er 3 keer zo sterk uit! Ik, dr Phill, weet dat zeker… 😉 If you need a friend… call me!
     
    Dikke kus, Roosje

  6. Pingback: Blogception | Josien..Spaced out..

Leave a Reply

