Guns, Germs and the Bugblatter beast of Traal..

rbbbot

Today I am feeling like the Bugblatter Beast of Traal, ravenous, aggressive and pretty stupid*.

I wonder how and if they reproduce at all and if so, how’d they ever get over their PMS?.. hmm Or maybe there’s just one of them. Or there used to be others but this big one ate all of them. Or they became extinct because they used to be easy to catch. I am reading ‘Guns, Germs and Steel’ by Jared Diamond and according to him there used to be a bunch of animals that became extinct as soon as they encountered humans. Not because humans are particularly savage but because all these animals were nice and plump and would wander up to a hungry human with a spear out of sheer ignorance, and possibly a very fatal kind of general interestedness.

I think that’s why there are no animals today actively practicing science. All the curious ones died out years ago. I imagine it went something like this:

– Hey, where’d Frank go?
‘Oh, he went to look at the new interesting thing’
– He’s been away for a while though, why isn’t he back yet?
’I don’t know, maybe the thing is particularly interesting this time’
– Hmm, good point. I think I’m going to go see for myself..
’Ok, see ya later, I’m going to investigate the big tar pit over there. I won’t be long’

And so on..

Oh well, better go be a scientist before I die out🙂

*make the clickky with the piccy for the linky

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

