Frozen Leeks

My dad sent me a ukelele

He did!

And he proceeded to give me lessons over Skype.I must admit I was taken aback by the sheer size of the instrument. It is unbelievably tiny. But for such a tiny instrument it is a bundle of fun.  And I wa sthrilled to find I can already play a few of my very favorite songs after only a few lessons!

And that is when I discovered something about my favorite Dylan song. As it turns out, his ‘Tambourine man’ is not about frozen leek at all. Share in my bafflement as the lyrics unfold.

It’s not as I always thought:

Then take me disappearin’ through the smoke rings of my mind
Down the foggy ruins of time, far past the frozen leeks of crazy sorrow

In my defense, our beloved Bob can be a bit cryptic at times, and frozen leeks do have a sense of despair about them.

Also, it’s: Cast your dancing spell my way I promise to go under it,
And not: Cast your dance and spill my weight, I promised to the wandering

Oh well,  live and learn I suppose..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

