Cambridge

I spent this weekend in Cambridge to attend a wedding. It turns out that England is very different from Germany ( apart from the fascination with sausages). Also, Cambridge is pretty awesome! There is scientific and cultural history everywhere.  I mean, you plunk down in a random pub, and it turns out it was a favorite haunt of Watson & Crick’s!

The Eagle pubImagine inventing DNA over a beerrules are strict in cambridge

On the outskirts of Cambridge, we visited the Orchard Tea Garden, another place frequented by world renowned thinkers , writers and scientists.

IMG_1179Wittgenstein used to come here too!IMG_1229

After tea, we went for a leisurely stroll along the typically English countryside discussing politics, economics and other important weighty issues. And photographing trees.

a lonely treethe riverThe LARCH (?)

Also I went a little overboard with my apple fascination, running around with my little iPhone 3G attempting to take artsy photographs of apples

IMG_1232 IMG_1236 IMG_1180
How d’ya like them apples?

Well.. I guess I just felt inspired by the whole trip. I got a real Cambridge sweater from Grafi’s Cambridge (check out her website, her designs are soo cute!). And I got to eat a real Cornish pasty (I’d always wondered about the English and their pies). Definitely going back to England. And if I do, I will definitely go by boat.

Why?

Because sleeping on a boat is friggin’ awesome!!

IMG_1242

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cambridge

  1. Flora says:

    Ben nog nooit in Engeland geweest, behalve hun eetgewoontes lijkt het me echt een te gek land, natuur en zo, dat bed op de boot is inderdaad helemaal te gek!

Leave a Reply

